John M. Patriarche Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is the highest honor the association bestows. It honors members of the Michigan Municipal Executives association who have been members of the association for a significant number of years. Those honored have worked consistently and effectively to foster representative democracy by enhancing the effectiveness of local elected officials through innovative programs, projects, and by consistency in providing excellence in character and professionalism. A nominee must have been a member of the MME or its predecessors for a significant number of years.

2017: Daryl Delabbio

Retired Kent County Administrator/Controller Daryl Delabbio received the 2017 John M. Patriarche Distinguished Service Award for his continued service to Michigan communities spanning multiple decades.

The award was given to Delabbio Wednesday, Sept. 13, 2017, during a MME Colloquium education session at the 2017 Michigan Municipal League Convention in Holland.

“In service to his communities, Daryl was a true professional that always improved the places he called home. In service to our profession, Daryl is highly respected but more importantly known to all. And as a person, anyone would be honored to be able to call Daryl ‘friend’,” said Keith Van Beek, MME President and Ottawa County Deputy County Administrator. Read more.


 Past Recipients:

  • Alex Allie – 2015
  • Kathie S. Grinzinger – 2014
  • Eric DeLong – 2013
  • Charles Graham – 2012
  • Mark Wollenweber – 2011
  • Theodore Staton – 2010
  • Kurt Kimball – 2009
  • Karl Tomion – 2008
  • Robert Hamilton – 2007
  • William M. Costick – 2006
  • Thomas W. Kressbach – 2005
  • Richard. A Huebler – 2004
  • William J. Baldridge – 2002
  • Frank A. Gerstenecker – 2001
  • Robert S. Kenning – 2000
  • Clifford R. Miles – 1997
  • Fred. H. Tholen, Jr. – 1995
  • Edward H. Potthoff, Jr. – 1994
  • John M Patriarche – 1992