

John E. Shay Deputy County Administrator

Date: February 5, 2019

To: President Pat Sullivan and MME Board of Directors; MME Membership

From: Al Vanderberg, Chair – Experience Committee

Subject: Annual Report of Experience Committee Activity

The Experience Committee had a busy and productive year, completing a number of initiatives.

Past President Keith Van Beek chaired the Nominating Committee and once again developed an outstanding list of candidates for MME Board membership and officer positions. The group also completed a thorough review of nomination criteria for Board and Officer Nominations and recommended some changes to the criteria and MME map to the MME Board for approval. These changes were approved by the Board in January.

Joe Bippus chaired the Awards Committee and the group worked to dramatically improve the number of awards potentially available for worthy recipients. The list of new awards follows:

- ✓ MME Mentoring Award
- ✓ MME New Manager Achievement Award
- ✓ MME Outstanding Assistant Award
- ✓ MME Innovation Award
- ✓ MME Community Leader Award

Criteria for the two existing awards was also reviewed and improved:

- ✓ Patriarche Award
- ✓ MME Executive of the Year Award

The Experience Committee recommended approval of the new awards by the MME Board which will consider the new award recommendations at their meeting Friday at the conference.

At the suggestion of Mark Wollenweber, who also serves on the ICMA Awards Committee, it was decided to more aggressively seek nominations for ICMA Awards as there is a significant deficit in nominations from Michigan. The ICMA Awards are as follows:

Professional Awards Presented to Individuals:

- √ Career Excellence
- ✓ Development of New Talent
- ✓ Excellence in Leadership as an Assistant (regardless of title)
- ✓ Early Career Leadership
- ✓ Academic Contributions to the Profession

Outstanding Local Government Programs are recognized in these areas:

- ✓ Community Diversity & Inclusion
- ✓ Community Health & Safety
- ✓ Community Partnerships
- ✓ Community Sustainability
- ✓ Strategic Leadership & Governance

The Experience Committee believes that we have many managers and programs that are worthy of national awards but most of our managers humbly go about their jobs and are not looking for praise or acclamation. We do have a responsibility to shine a light on the excellence of our profession in Michigan and this is one way we can do so.

Frank Walsh chaired the Managers in Transition Committee and the group completed their significant rewrite of the Managers in Transition Manual which has been submitted to MML for inclusion on the MME website. The newly updated manual should be available on the website during the conference. The Managers in Transition Committee assisted five managers in 2018, two in-person contacts, and three contacts by phone.

The Experience Committee also worked to standardize how we greet new managers to the State and/or to their new positions. Information will be sent to the President as we become aware of new managers so that the President can offer greetings on behalf of the MME. This isn't intended to replace greetings from others.

Mark Wollenweber served as the Senior Advisor and made numerous contacts during the year.

Many thanks for the Experience Committee members who worked hard to make 2018 a productive year: Joe Bippus, Marty Colburn, Mitch Deisch (Vice-Chair), Jake Eckholm, Curtis Holt, Brad Kaye, Jeff Lawson, Darwin McClary, Ben Swayze, Joe Valentine, Frank Walsh, Mark Wollenweber, Christian Wuerth,