

John E. Shay Deputy County Administrator



Date: January 31, 2020

To: President Pat Sullivan and MME Board of Directors; MME Membership

From: Al Vanderberg, Chair – Experience Committee

Subject: Annual Report of Experience Committee Activity - 2019

The Experience Committee had a busy and productive year, completing a number of initiatives.

Past President Patrick Sullivan chaired the Nominating Committee and, once again, an outstanding list of candidates was developed for MME Board membership and officer positions.

The MME Board approved the recommendation to create five new awards and criteria. Joe Bippus chaired the Awards Committee (Marty Colburn, Darwin McClary, Joe Valentine, Christian Wuerth) which worked to implement the new accolades. The list of awards follows:

✓ MME Mentoring Award

This award recognizes the MME professional who has made significant contributions in the development of new talent and/or who has designed and implemented outstanding career development programs for local government employees.

✓ MME New Executive Achievement Award

This award recognizes the MME professional who has made significant contributions in the development of new talent and/or who has designed and implemented outstanding career development programs for local government employees.

✓ MME Innovation Award

This award recognizes the MME professional who has developed innovative solutions to providing services to their community. The innovation should have increased the level or quality of service offered and at a sustainable cost for the community to continue the service for the foreseeable future.

✓ MME Community Leader Award

This award recognizes the MME professional that has helped guide their community through a significant event that resulted in a favorable outcome. The event should have been a significant concern for the majority of the citizens and the solution a clear, beneficial outcome to the community.

Criteria for the two existing awards was also reviewed and improved:

✓ Patriarch Award

This award is given to a retired MME professional that provided professional and outstanding service to a community or communities. The individual must exemplify personal characteristics of honesty, fairness, respect, and trust. Use his/her abilities to mentor others in the profession and have a record of volunteer service to the MME organization to further the profession.

✓ MME Executive of the Year Award

This award recognizes the MME Professional that has made significant contributions to the field of local government management over the past 12-months.

Thirteen executives completed nomination forms and eleven managers were nominated for one or more of three awards: Community Leader, Mentoring, and Innovation. The nomination rules state that nominations can only be made by MME members, so a number of nominations made either by Mayors or other locality staff, who aren't MME members, were disqualified.

The award winners for 2019 include the following:

- Patriarch Award Ed Koryzno Accepted the award at the fall MML Conference.
- Community Leader Award Frank Peterson Muskegon City Manager; nominated for leading Muskegon through very difficult fire service changes and adoption of a radically different 5-year contract.
- Mentoring Award Dan Coss
 DeWitt City Administrator; nominated for mentorship of a manager located within his region and also
 for mentoring the director of a regionally shared facility.
- Innovation Award Pat McGinnis
 Grand Haven City Manager; nominated for leadership of the "Forever Grand Haven" perpetual 3 mill allocation for infrastructure.

The Experience Committee began work to develop a better nomination process for ICMA Awards, as it was noted that there is a dearth of nominations for these awards for Michigan managers. The ICMA Awards are as follows:

Professional Awards Presented to Individuals:

- ✓ Career Excellence
- ✓ Development of New Talent
- ✓ Excellence in Leadership as an Assistant (regardless of title)
- ✓ Early Career Leadership
- ✓ Academic Contributions to the Profession

Outstanding Local Government Programs are recognized in these areas:

- ✓ Community Diversity & Inclusion
- ✓ Community Health & Safety
- ✓ Community Partnerships
- ✓ Community Sustainability
- ✓ Strategic Leadership & Governance

Frank Walsh chaired the Managers in Transition Committee (Marty Colburn, Mitch Deisch) and the group completed their first year working with the newly updated Managers in Transition Manual. The Managers in Transition Committee assisted five managers in 2018; two in-person contacts and three contacts by phone.

The Experience Committee also worked to standardize how we greet new managers to the State and/or to their new positions. Information will be sent to the President as we become aware of new managers so that the President can offer greetings on behalf of the MME. This isn't intended to replace greetings from others.

Your MML Experience Committee did an outstanding job in 2019. I thank each member for their contributions: Joe Bippus, Marty Colburn, Darwin McClary, Mitch Deisch, Brad Kaye, Dale Kerbyson, Curtis Holt, Jeff Lawson, Joe Valentine, Frank Walsh, Mark Wollenweber, and Christian Wuerth.